Backup Details Page

The Backup Details page allows you to view backed up objects and the number of backed up records for each object, export or restore backed up data. If there was an error during the backup operation, this page displays the error message. To open this page, on the Backup Package Details Page navigate to the corresponding backup and click its DETAILS link.

backup-details

In its upper part this page displays date and time when the backup operation started and when it was finished, the number of backed up objects and the total number of backed up records.

Below the Data pane displays the list of backed up objects and the numbers of backed up records in each of them. The Data pane has two tabs: All and Changed to the left of the Data header. The All tab displays the number of totally backed up records for each object at the time of the backup operation. The Changed tab displays the number of data changes for each object since the previous (or even earlier) backup operation.

On the Changed tab, below the Data header after Changed since, you can see date and time of the backup you compare the current backup with. If you want to compare the current backup with an older one, click the down arrow after this timestamp, and select the necessary backup from the list. If this backup pair was never compared, the corresponding message is displayed. Click the Compare Now button to compare backups. Note that it can take some time if there is much of data backed up. In such way you can compare any backups made by the same backup package and see how data changed in time.

note Note

If there were no successful backups prior to the current one for this backup package, only the All tab is displayed and the tab captions are not displayed, because there is no prior backup to compare the current one to.

The tab captions are also not displayed after you select check boxes for some objects or records. You will be able to switch between tabs again only after you clear check boxes or leave the Backup Details page and open it again.

Viewing and Exporting Data

To export data simply click the Export link for the corresponding object on the All tab. Then save the result CS01 file.

To view data click the View link for the corresponding object. After this the Data Preview Page will open, displaying backed up data.

Restoring Data

Skyvia offers two ways to restore data: using the All tab and using the Changed tab.

When you use the All tab, you need to select check boxes for the data to restore, click the Restore button, and then select the operation to perform: Insert records, Update records, or Delete records.

When you use the Changed tab, the restore operation undoes the selected changes. So you can compare two backups, then select and undo changes between them. The operation to apply is selected automatically.

Thus, for example, to undo the recent changes you can perform a fresh backup, compare it with one of the previous backups, select the changes you want to undo, and click Restore.

Skyvia allows selecting and restoring whole objects or separate records (on the Data Preview Page) for restoring data in both ways. When you undo data changes, you can even select and undo changes only for separate fields of an updated record (on the Record Preview Page).

You can click the View link and select records for one object on the Data Preview Page, then return to the Backup Details page via breadcrumbs, view and select records of other objects, etc. - all the selections are remembered till you click the Restore button or leave the Backup Details page. Please note that when you click the Restore button on the Backup Details page, all the selected data is restored. When you click the Restore button on the Data Preview Page, only the selected rows for the current objects are restored.

It is recommended to select and restore all the data you want to restore in a single operation instead of clicking Restore for each couple of records or each object separately. It is especially recommended when restoring data for several related objects. This means that when you want to restore records from several objects at once, it is better click the View link for one object and select its records on the Data Preview Page, then return to the Backup Details page via breadcrumbs, view and select records of other objects. After all the necessary records are selected, return to the Backup Details page and click Restore.