Comparing Backups and Viewing Data Differences

Skyvia allows comparing backups for different points in time and viewing and undoing the data differences between them. If a backup package contains more than one backup, when you open a backup which is not the oldest backup in the package, the Backup Details Page and  the Data Preview Page display two tabs in the Data pane - All and Changed. The All tab, which is active by default, displays the backed up data. The Changed tab of allows you to compare data in different backups and see data changes between them.

The Changed tab on the Backup Details Page displays the numbers of changed (inserted, updated, and deleted) rows per backed up object, and the Changed tab on the Data Preview Page actually displays the data changes between the compared backups in the current object.

 

Selecting Backups to Compare

By default the Changed tab displays data changes since the previous backup. Under the breadcrumbs row you can see date and time of the current backup.

Below the Data header after Changed since you can see date and time of the backup you compare the current backup with. If you want to compare the current backup with an older one, click the down arrow after this timestamp, and select the necessary backup from the list. If this backup pair was never compared, the corresponding message is displayed. Click the Compare Now button to compare backups. Note that it can take some time if there is much of data backed up. In such way you can compare any backups made by the same backup package and see how data changed in time.

Note that this menu displays only backups for the same period as specified on the Backup Package Details Page page. If you want to compare with even older backup, return to this page and set longer period for displaying timeline.

backup-details-changed

 

Record States

When you view the records that were changed since the second compared backup , the State column displays the status of the record - whether it was added, deleted, or updated between backups. It can have the following states:

record-state-delete - the record is present in the older backup and not present in the newer one.

record-state-insert - the record is not present in the older backup and is present in the newer one.

record-state-update - the record is present in both backups, however some of its fields were changed.

For updated records (record-state-update) you can see the changed fields on the Record Preview Page. For this click the Select fields link in the second column.

 

Undoing Data Changes

When comparing backups you can select check boxes for the data changes and then click Restore to undo them. Thus, you can compare two backups, then select and undo changes between them. The operation to apply is selected automatically.

note Note

For added rows (marked with record-state-insert in the State column) restore (undoing adding this row) means that the row will be deleted from the data source.

For deleted rows (marked with record-state-delete in the State column) restore (undoing deletion of this row) means that the row will be inserted to the data source.

For updated rows (marked with record-state-update in the State column) restore means undoing the row update. Values from older backup will be applied.

For updated records (record-state-update) you can select and undo the separate field changes on the Record Preview Page. For this click the Select fields link in the second column and select the fields to restore.

Thus, for example, to undo the recent changes you can perform a fresh backup, compare it with one of the previous backups, select the changes you want to undo, and click Restore. This can be useful when you want to revert data in some or all your cloud objects to some previous state. In order to do it, you will need to make a new backup of the current state of the data, compare this backup with the backup for the point in time you want to restore the cloud data to, select the changes you want to undo (or all the changes, if you want to restore the cloud application to the previous state completely), and click the Restore button. You can see more details in the How to Restore Data topic.

You can also use this functionality when you need to perform a mass data update or import to your cloud application and want to ensure that this operation won't break anything. In this case just perform backups before and after the operation, compare them and analyze the data changes. If you don't like them, you will be able to simply select and undo them.